International Waters learning Exchange & Resource Network

Benguela current 44 Giwa Regional Assessment

The Benguela Current region (GIWA region 44) includes the entire extent of the Benguela Current system and the freshwaters that drain into it. The region spans fi ve countries, including Angola, Namibia, Botswana, South Africa and Lesotho. The total coastline of the region extends some 4 590 km from the Angolan enclave of Cabinda in the north to Cape Agulhas at the southern tip of the African continent. The combined Exclusive Economic Zones of the three coastal states covers some 1.9 million km2, with an estimated 1.4 million km2 falling within the Benguela Current region.

584: Global International Waters Assessment (GIWA)

10 Jan 2014


Benguela current 44 Giwa Regional Assessment.pdf