International Waters learning Exchange & Resource Network

Indian Ocean Report for persistent toxic substances

The countries grouped under the region are: Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Iran, Kuwait, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, United Arab Emirates and Yemen. The following 21 compounds, or groups of compounds, were identified as priority PTS when magnitude of use, environmental levels and human and ecological effects were taken into account: aldrin, chlordane, DDT, dieldrin, endrin, heptachlor, hexachlorobenzene, mirex, toxaphene, PCBs, dioxins, furans, atrazene, endosulfan, lindane, phthalates, PAHs, pentachlorophenol, organotin, organolead and organomercury compounds

14: Regionally Based Assessment of Persistent Toxic Substances (RBA-PTS)

10 Jan 2014


Indian Ocean Report for persistent toxic substances.pdf