International Waters learning Exchange & Resource Network

Caspian Sea 23 Giwa Regional Assessment

This report presents the results of the Global International Waters Assessment of the Caspian Sea drainage basin (GIWA region 23). The geographic boundary of the region is defined as the catchment area of the Caspian Sea which, entirely or partially, covers eight countries: Russia, Azerbaijan, Iran, Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan, Georgia, Turkey and Armenia. The majority of the drainage basin is occupied by the five littoral states: Russia, Azerbaijan, Iran, Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan. The transboundary waters that are identified within the region are the Caspian Sea itself and the Volga River that has a major hydrological impact on the Caspian Sea.

584: Global International Waters Assessment (GIWA)

10 Jan 2014


Caspian Sea 23 Giwa Regional Assessment.pdf