International Waters learning Exchange & Resource Network

Indian ocean Islands 45b Giwa Regional Assessment

The Indian Ocean Islands region comprises the island states of Comoros, Mauritius, Madagascar and Seychelles which are situated in the Western Indian Ocean (WIO). The combined total Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) of the Island States within the region is approximately 4.1 million km2. This provides the approximate limits of the region (between latitudes 5° N and 30° S and extending as far as 70° E). In terms of economic development, Mauritius and Seychelles appear to have met the basic conditions for sustainable human development, but considerable work is required in Madagascar and Comoros.

584: Global International Waters Assessment (GIWA)

10 Jan 2014


Indian ocean Islands 45b Giwa Regional Assessment.pdf