International Waters learning Exchange & Resource Network

East Africa Rift Valley Lakes 47 Giwa Regional Assessment

The East African Rift Valley Lakes (EARVL), GIWA region 47, runs from the northern end of Lake Turkana Basin to the southern tip of the Lake Malawi/Nyasa Basin and includes all the natural habitat and associated human communities found within the Rift Valley and on the adjacent escarpments (Figure 1). It encompasses parts of the following countries; Ethiopia, Kenya, Sudan, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, Democratic Republic of Congo (DR Congo), Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique. The main lakes include Victoria, Tanganyika, Malawi, Turkana, Albert, Edward, George and Kivu. All are tropical and together comprise the African Great Lakes ecoregion. However, each lake lies within its own separate drainage basin, with its own assemblage of endemic organisms, most notably the cichlid fi sh species-fl ocks.

584: Global International Waters Assessment (GIWA)

10 Jan 2014


East Africa Rift Valley Lakes 47 Giwa Regional Assessment.pdf