International Waters learning Exchange & Resource Network

Eastern Equatorial Pacific 65 Giwa Regional Assessment

The GIWA Eastern Equatorial Pacifi c region extends along the west coast of Central America from the Colombian-Ecuador border in the south to northern Central Mexico. It includes El Salvador and the Pacifi c coastal areas of seven other countries – Mexico, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama and Colombia. The region was divided into three sub-systems – Southwest Mexico, Central Equatorial Pacifi c and Pacifi c Colombian. The GIWA assessment focuses predominantly on the Central Equatorial Pacifi c sub-system as it includes most of the signifi cant and reported transboundary issues.

584: Global International Waters Assessment (GIWA)

10 Jan 2014


Eastern Equatorial Pacific 65 Giwa Regional Assessment.pdf