International Waters learning Exchange & Resource Network

Mauritius MEDA Report

The Republic of Mauritius consists of the main island of Mauritius and several outlying islands namely, Rodrigues, Agalega, St. Brandon, Tromelin and Chagos Archipelago. The total land area of Mauritius is 2040 km2 the while the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) is about 2 million km2. Mauritius has at different periods been a colony of the Dutch, French and British. Effective Dutch Colonisation of the island started in 1598 and ended in 1710. The French occupation started in 1721until 1810 when the island was captured by the British. The country attained independence in 1960. Mauritius has inherited a socio-econo-political system based on the Westminster model with a multi-party democracy and mixed economy based on sugar, textiles and apparel, tourism, freeport, financial sector, sea food hub and information and communication technology.

1462: Programme for the Agulhas and Somali Current Large Marine Ecosystems: Agulhas and Somali Current Large Marine Ecosystems Project (ASCLME)

09 Oct 2013 by iwlearn


Mauritius MEDA Report.pdf

Report (2197)